The Creation of My Own Little Sanctury

22 Jul

image

After 4 years of living in our home, the creation of 10 bonfire costumes, 1 wedding dress, 3 mens jackets, 4 pairs of curtains and numerous other sewing projects, all ftom the dining table, picnic table or the sofa, my rather clever husband is creating, just for me, my own little corner for my projects. The joy of marrying a carpenter!

For anyone who has a hobby, which takes up a bit of room, you may just understand my excitment of having this space. Plans are already a foot of what will live where, what my next creation will be and how it will all look.

I am not sure my husband quite shares the same enthusiasm i am now buzzing with, as I ask “when will it be ready?”, “could you just add one of these…?”, “will I be able too…?”. But then the realisation struck me, that while I will shortly have my own small corner to retreat to and play with, the sport season discussions of what is on the TV will shortly be gone, along with the choice of music, radio, room temprature etc. So in his creation, of my little sanctury, I believe what my husband is actually creating is his own piece of bliss to retreat into, where he will no longer have a gaggle of women turning up to disturb the football or suddenly offering to go to the bedroom to finish watching the film he was quite settled into watching. This really is a 2 birds one stone project.

Oh well what ever the motives, it will very soon be mine!

“Darling, is it nearly ready yet?”

Leave a Reply

