A Whole New World

20 Jul

 

In this world of social media and sharing thoughts, opinions and general activities of the day, perhaps now is the time to start playing with a blog, and having enjoyed so many others, I hope I can do the format some justice.

I have no real idea what my theme will be or what direction this may take but as long as I enjoy doing it and have some fun playing with it, lets just see what happens and perhaps someone out there might just find it interesting enough to read. Stranger things have happened

There is nothing particularly unusual about me. I am not standing for election (although I have an unhealthy interest in local politics). I am not releasing a book or film (although I enjoy both). I am not selling a product (but if you ever see me at the boot-sale with a table please buy!), I have never been a diary keeper (so this may just be the time) and I am not world traveller (although if I have a good trip any where this may just be the place I let the planet know about it). SO what exactly is the point of doing this? I am asking myself this very question as I write this.

Well, I am Chairman of Malling Community Association, the main aim of which is to provide the premises of Malling Community Centre to the Malling area of Lewes and surrounding , for the benefit of people in the who live there.  hopefully, as time goes on, there may be moments of excitement that people may want to know about (or I may just want to shout about!), that might be of interest. It has been suggested I have one of those statements that say the opinions expressed here are my own and not, in any way, reflect the opinions of individual members (I think someone is worried I might say something controversial!)

I do spend far too much time researching my geneology and have become a bit of a family tree bore, exploring the social history and local connection to long dead relatives. This has become a little consuming and addictive over time as I attempt to dig further and further back into my family tree, trying to connect people, locations, events and dates, which I then dig around in like a good novel. hopefully if I blog about this at least the relatives will read it!

My other passion,apart from my husband(I will get in trouble if I don’t at least mention him) is to sew. Escapism in the form of Bonfire Costumes, either for myself , relatives or friends. Basically because I am still a little girl who never grew up and every so often I like to play dress up and loose myself in the spectacular which is the Bonfire Season, parading through towns, villages and streets, with a burning torch in my hand and series of explosions by my feet. What more could a girl want?

Apart from all of that, I am just a little bit opinionated and enjoy talking over topics with others. about things I never knew anything about. Sometimes I like to just put a thought out there and discover what people think. It does not mean I am right or that I can not even be convinced to change opinion, but it is fun to explore.

If you got this far, Thanks! and hopefully as time goes on I might just get the hang of it!

One Response to “A Whole New World”

  1. Paula July 22, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    We have a lot in common, interest in local politics though not actively a part of. Family tree most definitely especially my Sussex roots. Sewing as well, though I enjoy crocheting too. Although I have not been to a bonfire night in a long long time I love the Bonfire societies as it brings back so many happy memories of every Saturday going to watch the Bonfire Societies at one village then another.
    Richard Woodman ( a Lewes Martyr) was one of the reasons for my interest in the family tree, because he lived in Warbleton I had hoped that in some way I might be related to a man that died for something he believed in. Sadly I have found no connection but the addiction of genealogy came from the search.
    One day I will llive back in the county I call home.

Leave a Reply

